The parish of Le Fleix abounds in things to see and do, including the castle’s smallholding (known as la Métairie in French), an old farm located next to the stables of the second castle which, itself, was built (at the beginning of the 17th century) for Frédéric de Foix (the Marquis of Trans’ grandson). The east wing of the second castle was originally 3 times longer than it is today. Partially destroyed during the French Revolution, only the main pavilion remained standing, which would go on to become the protestant temple in 1805, then was redeveloped in 1899.
Le Fleix’s protestant church dates back to the Reformation. Worship was officially permitted in 1587.
The first temple in Le Fleix, which existed at least up until 1679 and was probably located at the entrance to the village, was most likely demolished following the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes. The temple dedication ceremony was celebrated in July 1801. Restoration work was carried out between 1898 and 1899.
The renovated temple was inaugurated on 9 May 1899.
In Le Fleix, take time and discover the house known as Catherine of Medicis’ house, the Moulinasse (the old mill), the Parquet (Feudal Court), the 3 iron cannons, the port pottery works, the village pottery works, Saint Etienne’s Church, the Mignon Viaduct, Le Fleix port quays, the ferry access ramp, the reinforced concrete bridge, the “lavoir” (wash-house) and the “Tumulus”...