The bastide of Monestier
Founded around 1284 by officers of the English King, this bastide was linked for a long time with Villefranche de Lenville. It was never completed and was of relatively little importance. With a little imagination, however, the four-sided layout of the small square quite accurately reflects what this bastide would have been like.
The Romanesque church is located in the south-east corner next to a dwelling sporting arcades, known as the "Governor's House".
The charming village of Thénac (the name is of Gallo-Roman origin) lies just a few kilometres from Monestier. The Château de Thénac was built on the ruins of a priory, which was first mentioned in 1109. Although the church has been restructured, we can still perceive the original building. The village, surrounded by delightful vineyard landscapes, is the starting point for a number of hiking trails.
In a small hamlet close to Thénac, lies the adorable church of Monbos dating back to the 11th and 12th , with astounding Pre-Romanesque capitals.